A Writer’s Voice

“Read what you write.”

I’ve heard this from so many sources it’s almost gospel. Okay, maybe that’s an exaggeration, but I do hear variations of “read what you write,” a lot.  The intention behind it is great – learn about the genre you’re writing in, from rules, rhythms, word count, tropes, and audience. All of this is good and necessary, and as I’m an avid reader, it’s not very problematic. The second stage of this, however, is reading novels that also have a similar story to the one you are writing.

It’s this part of the process I’ve always found to be harder. I actually try to avoid it most of time. I find I’m intimidated by reading books similar to what I’m writing. Writers are their own worst critics, so to go out and actively seek a published novel that is similar to what I’m writing is almost like asking “Why do I bother?,” since clearly someone has already done it and done it better than I.

I recently read Jay Kristoff’s Nevernight (the first in a series), and loved it. Jay had created this world and these characters that drew you in, with twists that I did not see coming (no spoilers, so don’t worry). But this leads me back to the “Why do I bother?” bit. Nevernight  is a story about an assassin. I’ve got one of those in the works myself. So the dilemma I find myself in isn’t just about whether or not I should finish the novel, it’s also about working hard not to copy what I’ve just read (intentionally or not). Here’s a novel that has taken twists and turns I didn’t think about when I started my story about an assassin. And while I don’t want to copy what someone else has done, it can be hard to walk away from plot points or story ideas you think are great, and would love to apply to your own work. This is why I don’t like reading things similar to what I am writing (at least while I’m writing). I want to give credit to the authors I enjoy reading, while still staying true to my own voice.

However, since I’ve been getting better at believing in my own skills as a writer, here’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to finish my novel. I loved Nevernight, and I am going to go out and pick up Godsgrave. But, while there are similarities, I’m not writing Mia’s story. I’m writing about Brynn, and the city of Zeph, and a whole world completely apart from Nevernight. I’m writing my story, in my voice, and it deserves to be told. Had someone sat me and Jay side by side, with the same world, characters and basic plot outline, we still would have come out with two completely different stories. And that’s okay! In fact, I wouldn’t actually mind trying that with another writer just to see how those stories turn out. The point is, we all have unique stories to tell, and for writers, no matter the similarities our work may have to published works, our stories still deserve to be told. Our voices, our characters voices, still deserve to be heard.


One thought on “A Writer’s Voice

  1. Please do finish your novel, Sheena! I’d be happy to be one of your beta testers. And if I ever finish writing this short story, I’ll send it to you.

Leave a comment