Writer’s Block

Get a group of writers together and at one point someone is going to talk about writer’s block. It’s one of the most frustrating aspects of the job and one of the least understood by the outside world. For most people, they’re jobs are full of routine, with predictable problems and logical solutions. I haven’t heard of my non-writer friends spending hours staring at a blinking cursor on the most intimidating white space that ever existed. And I don’t think they would spend an evening discussing it either. But get some writers together and you will hear endless tales about our journeys through the “block.”

It’s different for everyone, of course, and some writers are able to breeze past it fairly easily, while others struggle to bring it down as though it were their own Berlin wall.

For me, it depends on the project. I’ve spent an hour working through a problem, and I’ve spent months. When writers get together, we don’t just talk about the “block”, we talk about how to get through it. Everyone has their own unique coping mechanisms, and up until yesterday I had two ways of dealing with my reluctant mind. Walking was my secondary solution, as it often helped clear my head. But primarily I would take shower. I’ve always found water to be particularly restorative and healing, so it washed the frustrations away and allowed the creativity to flow again.

But the other day, there was a problem that I have been struggling with ever since I first wrote this particular novel five years ago. And I was driving to work when the perfect solution just slipped inside my head as though it had always been there. I had the music blaring, the sun was rising over the mountains and the solution just eased its way into my consciousness, and it was so perfect that I spent the next few minutes talking about it, out loud, to myself.

My brand of crazy is unique.

So while I know writer’s block will come again, it’s nice to know how to deal with it.

 


One thought on “Writer’s Block

  1. Yes, we none writers would not know how deeply you struggle at time with the writer block, but my eyes saw how over the moon you where when you came home that night an had finally the solution to your block. You where fabulously happy and relieved all at the same time and your eyes my daughter where shinny with happiness . that I did recognized and that his what I look for every time you seem to have a block, this overwhelming feeling forwardness into writing your stories…..

Leave a comment