Observations

On any trip beyond one’s own country and culture observations are always made, so here are a few of my own.

In Ireland they do say “grand,” and their accents are softer.

Scotland has “aye” and a lot of rolling r’s. It’s stronger, and at times harder to understand, but personally I prefer it.

Both countries have horrible roads, and even worse road signs, which makes driving interesting.  They have an abundance of traffic lights which work somewhat backwards. The yellow light isn’t used so much as a slow down,  as it is a warning that the green light is coming. And unlike Canada there is quite a bit of respect afforded to bicyclists on the road.

Both countries have a variety of beauty to offer,  but I would say that Ireland is a gentle, soft beauty, one which flows over you like warm water in a comforting caress. While Scotland, especially the Highlands, has scenes that hit you like a punch in the gut. It’s a bold beauty, offering no excuses.

A lot of the food is pre-made, with little cooking, even my eggs were nuked. And fresh food isn’t exactly fresh, not the way we are used to.

But as much as things may be different they are also the same. People, no matter where you go, are still people. They love, hate, work, despair and find joy just as they do everywhere else. They get married, breakup, raise children and strive for better things, just like everywhere else.

This has been the trip of a lifetime, and honestly everyone I meet who finds out I’ve done it alone,  says that I’m brave for doing that. Of course, that’s not so re-assuring, as it makes me think there is some extra danger out there that I should be aware of though I don’t think that’s how it has been meant but still,  everyone says it! It’s been pretty funny.

I think this trip has passed beyond certain expectations and has failed at others, but it has changed me in several ways. I’ve realized things about myself, and come to appreciate other things a little more.

Having walked in the footsteps of history has inspired stories and poems that are swirling in my mind, and visiting ruins certainly affects your perspective on the past and present, and I have enjoyed that to a great deal.

That being said, and as much fun as I’ve had, as much as I have seen, I am glad to be going home soon. No matter where you end up, or how much fun you have, home is home, that one special place that offers an individual something that no other place can. That feeling may be different for everyone, and may take time to find for some, but I think at one point or another, everyone discovers what it means to be home.

Still, my eyes have been blessed to see some pretty great things, and that will always be awesome. Of course, once I get home it will be all about going through my pictures and picking which ones to print, so Ireland and Scotland will stay with me long after I get home, and I’m okay with that.  😆 Reflection is always fun in terms of an international trip, haha.


Leave a comment